A test of trust

It was a cool evening, everything was going smoothly, birds chirping and the evening air blew…..

Then he walked in, he went straight to the last row where the telephone was located, he dipped his hairy hand inside his pocket and removed a sheet of paper. The sheet was tiny, anyone would suggest that the sheet contained written figure (numbers). Yes! There is a phone number on the sheet.
He picked the phone and dialed the number, he then turned, facing my direction, our eyes met, but I suddenly turned away and he started talking.
I moved to the row before the last one in other to hear the conversation (though it wasn’t my business) I could hear the conversation clearly:


Man: Good evening madam.
(The person he was calling was a woman, I noticed.)

Woman: good evening, how may I help you?

Man: Madam I want to apply as a cleaner in your shop.

Woman: Am sorry, I already have a cleaner

Man: Madam I can clean very well.

Woman: But I already have a cleaner.

Man: Madam, if you give me this job, I will work for 3 months without collecting any salary from you. Then from the 4th month you’ll start paying.

Woman: Gentleman thanks! But my cleaner is doing very well.

Man: Okay madam, after the 3months, reduces 10% from the salary.

Woman: Thank you. But I said I already have a cleaner and he is doing very well.

Man: (Inhales) Madam I see you trust this you cleaner very well.

Woman: yes I do, he is very good.

Man: Thank you for your time ma.

Madam: Oh! It’s nothing.

He ended the call. I was expecting him to be surprised but he was like the happiest man on earth. I decide to approach him, I asked him if he was alright, He simply smiled and said; “That was my boss (He knew I was listening) I got a job as a cleaner in her shop few weeks ago, I just wanted to check if my abilities are encouraging, if I was doing the job well and if I was worthy of her trust, I am happy! Because I met her expectations and am doing my job well and good”.

He smiled and walked away. My mouth was wide open as I stared at him until he was out of sight. –Speechless, I was!

10 thoughts on “A test of trust

  1. This is a really good read for me. Must agree that you are one of the coolest blogger I ever saw. Thanks for posting this useful information. This was just what I was on looking for. I’ll come back to this blog for sure!

Share Your Thoughts :)

