My Lullaby

Hush, my little
one; you must be
exhausted.

Sleep, my little
Kovu
Let your dreams
take wing
One day when
you’re big and
strong
You will be a king

I’ve been exiled,
persucuted
Left alone with no
defense
When I think of
what that brute
did
I get a little tense
But I dream a
dream so pretty
That I don’t feel
so depressed
‘Cause it soothes
my inner kitty

And it helps me
get some rest
The sound of
Simba’s dying gasp
His daughter
squealing in my
grasp

His lionesses’
mournful cry
That’s my lullaby
Now the past I’ve
tried forgetting
And my foes I
could forgive
Trouble is I knows
it’s petty
But I hate to let
them live

So you found
yourself
somebody who’d
chase Simba up a
tree

Oh, the battle may
be bloody, but
that kind of works
for me
The melody of
angry growls
A counterpoint of
painful howls

A symphony of
death, oh my!

That’s my lullaby
Scar is gone… but
Zira’s still around
To love this little
lad
Till he learns to be
a killer
With a lust for
being bad!

Sleep, ya little
termite!
Uh– I mean,
precious little
thing!

One day when
you’re big and
strong
You will be a king!
The pounding of
the drums of war
The thrill of
Kovu’s mighty roar

The joy of
vengeance
Testify!

I can hear the
cheering
Kovu! What a guy!
Payback time is
nearing
And then our flag
will fly
Against a blood-
red sky

That’s my lullaby!

~Lion King~

5 thoughts on “My Lullaby

Share Your Thoughts :)

